Over Spring Break, we did go to Jeju Island, and while we were there, we walked every where!!! Since we felt so accomplished from all of our walking, we felt like we earned our Taco Bell, Burger King, McDonalds, and other goodies. Jeju behavior did make me super guilty, and out of nowhere, I got the running mentality. That was about two weeks ago. I woke up almost every morning, as did my supportive husband, and we pounded the pavement. If I missed my morning run, I'd do it when I got home from work. Five days of running equalled 20 miles accomplished. I felt great!! But I do need to throw in there that I totally dismissed the idea of running a race. I literally forgot about it. So, this past Monday, my boss from the gym gives me HUGE signs to take to the next post. That was God doing what he does best; giving me a sign...literally. I made my mind at that moment that I really did need to run the race that Saturday. Back to training for the race; I had five days to get ready for it. I ate a lot of gummy bears; I think there was pizza in the mix somewhere, and wine, yeah, wine was definitely a part of the training regimen. Thursday was the first day that I said something about the race to my husband, and he gave me a blank stare. What's mine is his, and that includes my personal obligations that I am no where ready for.
I woke up this morning excited to run; my husband, indifferent. On our way there, I was still really pumped; I had my Ipod, I ate a great breakfast, I didn't have to pee too terribly...I was ready. And then we get there...
Have you ever been in a place where you are literally the minority not because of age, race, ethnicity, language, or gender...? Well, fatty shows up in her cotton clothing to run a race. I'm looking at all of these soldiers or straight up runners, and felt like I stood out like an oversized doughnut in the produce isle. I didn't care; I was still pumped. They go over the safety briefing. Rule number one: no music. Are you freaking kidding me? I never run without music; I can't do it. That's like seeing Kristin Stewart smile; it just doesn't happen. I felt a little uneasy about this, but I understood. My husband is not a music runner, so he was cool with it, but he did see me panic.
We line up to take off, and I kid you not!!!! When we first start, we were the last two runners...for about a mile. I thought to myself, "I'm literally going to get last place." I realized that everyone was jazzed because they were all cool in their neon running shoes, shorty short shorts, and mesh tops, and that's why they were able to take off so quickly. Note to self: buy all of those items so I can be a better runner. My husband, the runner, said that my pace was just fine, and little by little, we were passing people. The weather was great, my husband was beside me, and then we get to mile 8. Mile 8 was up a never ending hill. Give me some credit here, I use to run in Haywood County regularly, so hills were never a problem. But this hill was never ending, and it lasted for over a mile. I had to slow down, pitch a fit, give the stink eye to those coming down the hill, and press on. ICE COLD GATORADE was at the top; a secret all of the down hill people didn't share. Not us, we were screaming it on our way downhill; those five people behind us had a right to know!!!
With my husband by my side, we finished the race. I did have to stop and stretch because I thought my knee cap fell off, but other than that, we finished. My knees and my hips felt awful. I guess that's why people actually train with running instead of oreo eating, who knew? I know people joke all the time about saying that they would come in last place in a race, and I am proud to say that I didn't come in last, but second to last!!! I was literally the second to last female to finish the race. But you know what? I finished. Fatty in her cotton clothing actually completed the race.
This wasn't my first half marathon, but it was the one that I felt most proud for accomplishing (hahaha, it's only my second). One, it showed me once again how amazing my husband is who ran beside me the entire time when he could have taken off any time he wanted; two, I followed through with a goal that I kinda forgot that I had in the first place; three, there weren't that many people there, but we were. I'm not a runner; I'm not fit; I've got jiggle everywhere; I don't own a mesh top; my thighs rub together all of the time, especially today, but dang it, we were there. We had to go to the store after the race, and I looked around at all of the people who could have been there but weren't. They didn't look like death, though; they looked happy and carefree. I, however, looked terrible, but I didn't care!
We came home, limped our way inside, and celebrated the fact that we spent such a special morning together. It filled me with so much appreciation that I have the ability to accomplish a goal of this nature, and a husband who is literally by my side helping me do it. Like others, I spend the majority of my time doubting my ability to do something. But if everyone who thought they couldn't do something just showed up, they'd finish.
I hurt; I took Advil, ate an apple, drank a beer in the shower, and now I'm just plain proud. Fatty showed up and finished a race; she finished....
Our, "Hey, thanks for showing up," medals. But again, WE have them!
My oh so wonderful husband...too cool for his medal. Not me, though!!!!
.jpg)